Thursday, April 9, 2015

February 2015 1.2

FebRUary 2015. Surly I'm not the only one who says it like that in my head to make sure I spell it correctly...this is one of two, because there's just too much to cram all into one.
 
 
I've decided I may just have to make a 'look at my adorable sleeping baby' post, because let's be honest, I have a an abundance of those. Baby snuggles are priceless, but even more so when it's not your first and you actually get the chance to step away from your other mom duties and just focus on cuddling your baby. Ah-the best.

 
I would almost categorize myself as a champion block and train track builder. Well, maybe not, but I can make a mean block castle...just to have it knocked down seconds later. Son of a gun. Kid, do you know how cool that block castle was? Obviously not. Oh well, maybe next year they'll last longer.

 
Reid is going to enter the strong man competition by the age of five. His strengths are legs and back.

 
Unfortunately sometimes these big kid cuddles come with whining which hurts my ears, but not always and I've been working on my skill of tuning out the whining for all our sakes (or regulating and making the rules for it to stop.asap.), either way-it's nice to get snuggles from Caden still. I look at him like he's such a big kid sometimes. Not sure why, I know he always wants to keep up with the big kids and maybe with Reid being here I see him even bigger--but it's not until random moments in my day, or even few amongst my week, that I'm taken back and reminded how little he still is. Then I get mom guilt for thinking maybe I'm too hard on him sometimes, having too high expectations for his age. Just depends on the moment, I guess.

 
February snow. And look, this time I put his coat on him to enjoy the snow fall-monthly improvements here in mom world.

 
I was trying to take a picture to send to Gary at work and finally, once I got Caden to look and smile, Reid did this. *I could really use the crying laughing emjoi right now* It was so funny to me that we're all smile and he's just eyeing the goods thinking about when his next feeding will be. *emoji, emoji, emoji*
 
(Something about expression emojis just make everything better in text.)
 
 

I have learned to let go MUCH more since I've been home. I first found myself expecting the boys to be able to go off and play and leave me to enjoy Reid. Yeah, because a 2 1/2 and 4 year old are mature enough for that. Then I found myself picking up behind them constantly, like I was trying to do damage control as they were playing. Unrealistic and stupid is what that was. THEN after seeing Jen, our neighbor, and how she interacted with them when I went to pick Caden up once it hit me-I have to involve myself with them at this age. Caden and friends can't entirely entertain themselves and do their own thing. Maybe for a little while, and with the known expectation that it will look like a tornado hit his room but not for long.
 
Since then it's been more enjoyable and easier all around. I've let my expectations of a clean and orderly house go, because dang it-we live here and I am here with a toddler and baby all day so that's just how it goes these days.
 
 
Facetime is the best. Being able to easily connect with Jacob and his family is so nice, especially with how quick my nephew Alex is growing. It's good to be able to feel connected with him, his wife and son despite the disconnect when it comes to distance and actually being able to meet up. It's been four years in January since I've seen my brother. I've never been able to meet my sister in law or my nephew. And I've never felt such a strong love for two people that I've yet to meet. I can't wait for the day to be reunited with them all.

 
We got to have a date night to celebrate a friends birthday and it was my first real time getting dressed up for anything since having Reid. So, I may have gone a little overboard but heck, at this stage in life you take every opportunity to do your hair, makeup and wear nice clothes without having to think about where spit up, food, boogers, any kid crud may land. This also means I will try to sneak in as many picture of my husband and I while we feel all cool and kid free.
 
 
We went to a fancy new steak house out east-very yummy and they had pineapple infused martinis which are dangerously good. I think I could have bought a mini wardrobe change for the cost of our dinner...but it was a fun experience and great time with awesome friends!



So, the mentioning about not seeing my brother for four years...it has been three years this July that my parents, sister and her husband went to visit Jacob. At that visit they were gifted many, many pieces of Thai fabric. Since then we have been working on making quilts out of said fabric. Three years to make a few quilts...yeah, because that's reasonable especially when you're not doing a set pattern. Whoops. Life gets busy, we make these quilt nights as girls nights and we have just lacked at getting together for those recently. BUT finally my sister initiated a girls night/quilt night, but my mom couldn't make it, so she and I chatted and knocked out three quilt fronts.

Love getting to spend one on one time with her, and let me be honest here, she is a sewing beast and did majority of the work. I'm not even sure how, I was working and talking but then next thing I know she had already finished so much.

 
Gary and I were able to sneak away to Panera before small group one night and I finally got the nerve to step away from my usual sierra turkey and try their 'power chicken hummus bowl'. My past supervisor used to always get it and it looked so good. It was pretty good, the hummus was a bit different than I expected and I think I had imagined it filling me up forever, yet later that night I was hungry again. (Duh. that was bound to happen, but I still had my expectations, ridiculous or not). Overall it was a good try though and I was happy I was finally able to have it. Doesn't top the Whole Foods salad though, not sure anything will top that masterpiece!

 
Valentines Day. We got Caden the movie Cars for the special day which he loved and we've watched plenty of it since. Our niece, Gracey, was born on Valentines Day, which this year fell on a Saturday-so we went over to their house to celebrate. Gary and I were able to sneak away Sunday to go purchase a new laptop (whew. stressful but awesome purchase) and enjoy dinner and some yummy beers at Old Chicago. We had the best time. We laughed and joked like we were dating again-it was so fun and much needed.

 
Some days you just have to hold your hand out and block your toddler from getting you. It was all fun and games, don't worry folks. But obviously it was already a 'wear your baby' kind of day, doesn't he see that and get the memo that I have one child strapped to me, I don't necessarily want the second one all over me, too? No, kids don't get that memo no matter how much you just want to stop and hollar 'puhleaze give me some personal space here.'
 
to be continued...

Wednesday, April 8, 2015

4

Reiders you are four months old now. A third of your way through your first year. Please, give me a moment to dry up my tears. This new stage is my favorite though. I'll always miss how small you first were, and it will always amaze me and make me sad all in one at how quick you grow, develop and change, but seeing the world through a childs eyes is the best gift God has given me. Refreshing and humbling all in one-so thanks to God for these days and opportunities with you and your brother and thank you to you two crazy boys for keeping me grounded.
 
 
You are interacting so much more, you're so curious and already acting more independent, letting us know when you do or don't like something. Which also means you are more vocal now. You are usually very content and happy, but don't worry-if something isn't as you like it you don't hesitate to let it be known either.

You are starting to 'talk' back to us and I just love it. It seriously makes my days hearing your little coo's and chatter. Adorable. I wonder so much what is going on in that little head of yours. What you must be thinking of us, our actions, your surroundings. What it must be like to just be chilling in your swing one minute, taking naps all the time, and then the next someone is picking you up and taking you to who knows where because you are at there will. That kind of sounds crappy, but let's be honest, you basically get to eat and sleep when you want and the only real heartache you've experienced is when Caden screams while you are sleeping or eating. Not a fun time.
 
I know I'm biased, but dang you are so cute. Something about a baby in just a diaper that makes me want to smooch you all over. It takes you back to looking all little again no matter how big you've gotten and it is the best.

You do great at tummy time. You are just like your brother, strong legs and already hold yourself up pretty well. That being said, you're also still a real bobble head sometimes, but two months down the road you'll be close to sitting up more stable.

Your father has given you a nickname. We call you Reid or Reiders, but over spring break when your dad was home you were on a good streak of dropping poo bombs only with him. I would literally hand you to him and not seconds later you would bomb out. It was awesome and funny, for me, but then your dad took it upon himself to start calling you Stink. So, if it sticks, I'm sorry. He's just bitter about all that poo.

 
You are officially on the move, starting to roll over from your back to front-mainly on your left side. But it basically means we can't just set you down and leave you anywhere and have to consider where you might roll off to.
 
Your sleeping okay. I'm sorry, your brother set the bar pretty high on this one. He was sleeping majority of and 8-5 kind of deal at this point, but you already have a better appetite than him and he also sucked his thumb. So, with you, it fluctuates. You were doing a good 8-4/5 stretch for quiet a while, but recently digressed off and on the last few weeks and added in a 2/3 feeding from there. If you eat about 7/8 and sleep till 2/3, that's still almost a 7 hour stretch for you, so I tend to think that's not bad at this age--just hard to remember that when I don't get to go to bed the same time you do and wake up early with your brother too. It won't last forever, so I'm trying to not worry about it and just power through. God gives moms, parents in general, the strength to function on little sleep for a reason and I just know in my heart I'll miss those extra moments with you. I already do sometimes when you are at a sleepover-crazy/obsessive, yeah, maybe, but I can't help it.

Sleepover wise you've done a few now, maybe three, and tonight at a last minute one. Only one was planned, that was for your dads big 30th birthday, the other two have been just some saving grace moments so I can get started on work earlier the next day and catch up on sleep. Mom guilt is a weird and stupid thing, and I feel it when you guys have sleepovers, but the time to get things done or sleep without having to wake up being needed at random hours, or even at 6 am with a 'mommy, want to read?/'mommy, I cold.'/'mommy, I wet.', is definitely needed. It's good to refuel and get some r&r, which doesn't come too easy with little ones.

You light up when you see people. Your smile is priceless and contagious. It almost comes off as a bashful smile at times, I just love it. You seem like a people person, the way you smile at people-but what really gets me is how you light up seeing your dad. Sometimes you'll just hear his voice and try to find him or smile at him without him even looking at you. In the mornings, when I get you, there's almost always a good smile there, but sometimes a little pout as well, almost like you're happy to see us but sad we are still just saying hello and haven't picked you up yet. Adorable and heartbreaking all in one.
 
You are a wonderful addition to our little family and we all love you so much! Thanks for being an awesome little man-love you Stink!

Christmas 2014

The Friday before Reid was born my mom watched Caden so I could get all the Christmas shopping done..and luckily so, because Reid wasn't expected for at least another week. We have, and plan to continue, doing four items and simple stockings for the kids. I say kids now, but let's me honest, Reids gift this year was all my sleep hours used up to care for his cute little self.

Something you want, need, wear, and read. And then some race cars, a personalized Mickey Mouse cd, and a cookie or something in the stocking. We picked out the want this year, probably for the last year, and just went off of what you like to do..so we had want: mini hot wheels monster truck toy, need: plates/bowls just for you, wear: mickey slippers (that you don't and won't wear...), read: a veggie tails book.

It's funny how hard it is to even stick to just four and stocking when you see so many fun things out there that you want to get your kid and think they'll enjoy playing with, but aiming at the bigger picture here. Your price range for wants/need/read will grow, too, so this way we can hopefully manage to reasonably get what you want and not have to confuse you with a drop in gift amounts along the way. Plus, the kids are surrounded by family that are great gift givers so there's always those bonuses, too.

Right now Caden is obsessed with 'groceries'. He loves grocery shopping and helping us out, he loves to play with fake groceries, just loves it. My parents got him a little Walmart basket with groceries in it, and we found him fast asleep Christmas Eve surrounded by all his groceries. Ridiculous and so cute.
 
 
He got Thomas and Cars plates/bowls. I stopped taking pictures after this so we could enjoy the moment more, so that's all I have for our Christmas morning.

We went to Christmas Eve Eve service this year and Uncle Drew came over after, bringing a cool, 'little' airplanes toy.

It was a busy and tiring time this year having such a little newborn and being tired from all that comes with that, and Caden boycotted naps during both family days so that added to the feeling of being worn out, but we had a good Christmas this year. Of course our own little blessing of Reid, and our first Christmas as a family of four-can't get much better than that!

Merry Christmas from the Lee's, 2014.

January 2015

Well, it's already April and I have blogged little to none this year. I have started many blogs in my head, but something always seems to come up or I haven't found the time to actually type it out and put pen to paper...or in this day and age, keyboard to internet. So, aside from a few more specific posts, I think I'll just have to do a quick recap of our recent months and call it good, hopefully making more time to get on here more in the future...

These past few months were all good to us. March was a little crazy, but overall it's been good. Busy with a newborn in the house, keeping up with both boys, adjusting to working from home and finding a good balance between our new family of four, immediate family, and friends. Time sure does fly by quick these days.


 
We got a beautiful snow fall in January. It was soft, fluffy and so pretty. It was cold, but not too cold while it fell, which allowed us to sneak outside for a quick observation before bundling up more and enjoying it. I love to see Cadens reaction towards new things and this was the first year we got to play in the snow together, more so during a February snow fall, and it was a blast. He's at such a fun age and has a great sense of humor, always ready to play and have fun!

 
He looks so tiny here. There are many moments I think, wow, Caden is getting so big, and then in different settings it shrinks him down again and my heart can take a quick breath of relief that my baby isn't a teenage boy right before my eyes...just yet at least. Never fear, need help shoveling? Our toddler is on the job! No matter what we may be doing, he is always wanting to try to do it and help us out. Luckily, God has given us a good insight on patience and we've, thus far, been good at letting him help to the extent that he can. It makes us stop, and slow down, not getting things done nearly as fast or accurately, but definitely so worth it.


 
After Reid was born I ventured out one night to get some groceries and some things to pass the time and entertain Caden at home. So, to start I got a bucket, beans, and measuring cups to play with; Washable paint, paintbrushes, plain paper and some extra large Mickey pictures to paint; and some yarn, beads and straws to make bracelets and necklaces. The first two are always a good go to and he loves...the last, not so much. The yarn was much too thick to string things on and it just didn't catch his interest. Oh well-can't win 'em all and two out of three is passing in my books. (Plus, I started a random wreath project now using the fail yarn so hopefully that at least puts it to good use...)


This was just a sad few days for us. Caden sounded like he was getting a little cold one morning/afternoon, and then after naps had a little cough and I thought for sure a cold at that point. Then, that evening between 4-6 he just rapidly got worse and worse. His breathing quickly became labored, he was raspy in his breaths and cough, he got extremely dreary looking, looked exhausted. I just couldn't shake it off that we needed to take him in despite the hesitation of not wanting to over react. I am so glad I just followed my gut and took Caden to the ER. He ended up having croup. He did two breathing treatments, and it wasn't until after the second that we really saw some improvement, enough to allow us to go home and not have over night monitoring. We were there about 7-11, then got home and I made camp in his room afraid of any digression that could happen. So slept on his floor, which we soon joined and took up all of the makeshift blanket bed, and thence started the going back and forth between night feedings with a newborn and floor sleeping next to my sick little guy.

It lingered about a week, and was a long few days with more breathing treatments throughout, but he was a champ through it all and we got through it without Reid catching anything which was a bonus!

 
Early January we had our good friends Josh and Jayne come to Wichita for a visit. Love getting to catch up and hang out with them, and we got a long overdue family game night in with it as well! We attempted to teach my oldest nephew how to play Settlers. I think he had a good time, but unfortunately for him it's a long game, we all hadn't hung out for a long time, we face timed my brother during it, and Jayne and I even started doing our nails at one point. so.much.going.on. It was chaos, but so fun. Also got to try a Moscow mule for the first time. Pretty dang yummy, and for some reason I just love the cool copper cup you drink them out of-pretty sure that's have the attraction.
 
 
Caden is straight up awesome. He can be a spit fire, for sure, but man he's fun and funny. He is a quick little guy when it come to learning-already singing the alphabet pretty well, counts from 1-10, and after watching shows a few times he is already repeating what they say as they say it. That's what he's doing in picture no. uno, I can't remember what he was saying but he was saying it along with the show and with just as much enthusiasm. Pic no. two was when I cleaned out our junk drawer and he wanted to help. It was basically a 'toss in the trash fest' and he loved it. I'd hand him something and say 'trash!', he'd repeat and throw away! Until we got to these awesome shades-then we had to have a little fun with the deal.

 
I randomly had the idea of taking Caden to Braums sometime. There is one close by and after driving by it a few times, and knowing his love for ice cream, or anything sweet, I randomly thought that would be fun taking him and Reid to get out and just get a little treat. Then, one evening we had some time to kill before bed and I mentioned it to Gary. He was on board, so off we went! Caden was super excited and got to try their birthday cake ice cream. He loved it! Made me remember when I used to get a birthday cake/cotton candy mix from Coldstone when I was a teenager-oh how I wish I had all that metabolism back!

 
This happened. It was bound to happen-once I get my hair good and long I soon cut it. It's inevitable. Looking at that those long pretty curls I think, oh dang...I wish I had those, how cute. But the long hair annoyed me. The positive was I could do 2nd, 3rd, 4th day hair with more ease. BUT the negatives: I got headaches from the ponytails/buns, it was more work to do styling, I am odd and if I had anything on with my shoulders exposed it would just annoy the heck out of me when it touched me, it erked me when I slept; always getting stuck under my head and annoying me. But those curls though...those are cute and fun. Not sure...maybe some day I'll grow it out, just to cut it again, but for now I've committed to the short locks and am loving it! 

 
Outside paint, aka water, cornstarch and food coloring. He loves it and obviously we got a little cabin fever because we busted it out one day even when there was still some snow on the ground.  
 
After I got the new do I was spending some time with it the next day figuring out my new style and how I wanted to wear it, yada yada...all the while Caden took it upon himself to play with the dogs food. I could hear him being up to no good and told him a few times from afar to leave their food alone, but let's be honest-I had to figure out my new fro. So, because I put my hair before my monitoring duties there was dog food everywhere an I found him giggling as he scooted around in it. Oh man. The life of a toddler.

 
Our sweet neighbors let Caden borrow their wooden train track and he was on cloud nine. Shortly after my sister gave Caden their train table and wooden tracks that her kids grew up playing with as well so we are usually track happy around here. It's faded a little since it's gotten to be nice out and the kid would probably choose to live outside if we let him, but I'm pretty sure tracks will never get old for this one. One of his big love languages is obvious-quality time. He just wants you to play and spend time doing things together. You give him your full attention building and playing with tracks and he's bound to be a happy kid.


 
Well, shoot, this one got out of order-but one day I hung out over at my sisters to do color her hair and had a little hair/photo session with my niece. Erin offered me a glass of wine while her color processed and I sure did take her up on that yummy treat, then Bethany and I played a long overdue Game of Life (but this was on her smart tablet, and I swear her points tripled each time and later noticed she had a little x12 next to her name so I'm suspicious...), then after complaining about my long locks and telling her I was going to cut them salon Bethany came to the rescue and gave me some little braids all throughout my hair. Love that girl.
 

Caden has beautiful hazel eyes that seem to show off a few different shades. One day they were a gorgeous green while he wore a deep green shirt. I was trying to show him his pretty eyes, but all he would do was make faces at the camera so I just captured that instead. Little goofball.

 
One of the many random picture we try to send to daddy during the day sharing our love with him while he's at work.

 
My sister had these bear prints she used with her kids and they would do little bear hunts. She would hide something and lead the prints to it and they would follow and find. I need to try them again, but at the time he just didn't get the idea and instead put all his little Jake the Neverland Pirate toys on them.

 
Caden is now always wanting to get into the dryer. I remember doing this as a kid and getting it to turn and spin around when I was in it. My parents said it's too dangerous and didn't even believe me when I told them I did it-sure, it can be dangerous if he shut himself in there and we didn't know, but we are very vocal with him about not being allowed in there unless we say and we are always around and know when he is in it. I mean, we're vocal about a lot of things and he doesn't listen, so I'm not saying we're in the clear-but at least something we're trying to be safe about and just choosing to let him have fun with this one.


 
After only a few months of winter, as soon as it's above freezing out, you'll find us outside whenever possible. Caden got this cool Thomas train from my sister at his second birthday. It was a large set of circle tracks it can go on, but can also go off on it's own. Not so much on the grass, but cruises along just fine around the house or pavement. Caden still has yet to learn how to steer it well, but even older kids seems to love taking it for a spin!

 
We ventured out to a trampoline park for the first time this winter. It was a blast. I had my in-laws watch Reid so I wouldn't have to hold myself back-which I should have somewhat because I got a killer headache afterwards! The first time we went downtown and with Caitlin and Caysen. They are some of our besties. The boys are less than a week a part and play great together. So, we try to get them together to do different things when we can. Caitlin is a nurse and works part time, and now with my days having more flexibility and being home hopefully we'll be able to get in more time together for our sake and theirs!
 


The day my sister dropped off the train table we skipped naps and hit up the park with her and her kiddos. Caden loves all his cousins and is always so excited when he gets to see them. These kids crack me up-they were screaming all the way down the slide and making the funniest faces on their way down. Love their simple ability to enjoy the little things in life-kind of like having childlike faith-sometimes jealous of that as well...

We had awesome neighbors just across the way. They have always been kind and helpful-I remember when Caden was born we still didn't know them very well and she came over shortly after dropping off gift for him. Sadly, it wasn't even until after Reid when she did the same thing that we really connected and got Caden and Chris together to play. They have seven kids, ranging from four years old, Chris, to high school. They are always willing to help by taking Caden to play for a while so when Jen picked up some extra work for a few weeks I offered to watch Chris once a week for a morning, since his dad works third and giving him some time to catch up on sleep.
 
SO the boys got to get together to play, play, and play some more. They always have a good time together-Caden loves hanging out with them. Chris has a few younger siblings that have been good at playing with Caden as well and we have had them over/they have had Caden over-it's a fun set up and great to have neighbor friends. Very fun and also very helpful at the same time!



Last but not least, just a little funny. Caden loves to help us cook, the only downside is trying to constantly keep him from also taking bites as we cook. Making enchiladas, he always bites into the tortillas; pasta, he'll even start eating the uncooked pasta; cutting up fruit is guaranteed to have pieces missing along the way. So it wasn't a surprise when he took a bite out of a frozen egg roll either...then, turn your back for a second and he adds a 'little' salt to it as well. Gross. My sister is an over-salter and I am definitely not, so I had to send her this picture when it happened. Sometimes his help isn't always so helpful, but at least he's interested in trying, right?!